City Info

City Government

Our local city government is comprised of elected officials, a handful of city employees, and countless volunteers that make Montezuma such a wonderful community!  City offices, including our municipal utility offices, community development and fire department.  The offices are open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.  The public is invited to participate in City Council meetings held the first and third Monday of every month at 5:00 p.m.  Contact Christy McCaslen, City Clerk at or call 641-623-5617 for general inquires or to reserve space on council meeting agendas.  The offices are located at 501 East Main Street, Montezuma, Iowa 50171.  MAP  FACEBOOK


Montezuma City Council Minutes

November 2, 2015

October 19, 2015

October 5, 2015

September 21, 2015

September 8, 2015

August 17, 2015

August 3, 2015

July 20, 2015

July 6, 2015

FY2015 Council Minutes

Local Officials, Boards & Terms

Elected City Mayor

Corey Simpson, 2019 

Elected City Council

Frank Brownell III, 2019
Ron Willrich, 2017
Curtis Bolen, 2017
Jacki Bolen, 2019
Adam Duffy, 2019

City Staff

Christy McCaslen, City Clerk
Whitney L. Baethke, Director of Finance

City Attorney

Gilbert R. Caldwell III

Fire Department

J.R. Shearer, Fire Chief

Streets and Sanitation

Mark Ewing, Superintendent

Natural Gas Department

Mike Cox, Superintendent
 Emergency Gas Department AFTER HOURS Number – 641.990.5007 & 641.990.9220

Montezuma Memorial Hall

Christy McCaslen, Custodian

Water Department Trustees

Chris Widmer, Water Manager
Jerome Sheets, 2019
Tim Holland, 2021
Gayle Creswell, 2017
Barbie Lowry, 2021
Marcia Kivi, 2017

Light & Power Trustees

Kevin Kudart, Superintendant
Shanel Fahlenkamp, Secretary
John Bushong, 2017
Charlie Sheets, 2017
Sheryl Freeborn, 2019
Doug Vermeer, 2017
Lana Taylor, 2022

Public Library Trustees

Janet McKee, 2019
Sally Johnston, 2016
Jim Kivi, 2017
Matt Eichenberger, 2016
Harold Wheeler, 2017
Barb Baker, 2016
Lola Willrich, 2018
Boyd Sparks, 2017

Water, Light, and Library Trustees are appointed for six year terms.